Post Christmas Development Work

Wow It has been a while since I updated here. Currently I have picked up the development again for my Audiogameproject1.01 as it is referred to at the minute (I’m sure there will be many more versions.) I have made several additions to the current game in its state.
Changes I have made to the previous revision of audioproject1.00a
I have added a holding screen so that the motion tracking can actually wait to pick up detection and then wait for the player to perform an action. The secondary main menu screen is not really a menu but is a hub where players actions can determine the selection they want to make by using a gesture. I have decided to design the UI this way for now as it seemed like the simplest most logical way to develop it. Plus my knowledge is highly limited on how to make GUI text within unity. Click functions are not available to the player in this game in its current guise so I had to think of the most logical way to implement menu navigation choices and a static screen that has text and audio telling the user what to do seemed the best route. I had a difficult choice before coming to the conclusion that I needed both the holding screen and the menu due to if a player decides to move about too much while the motion detection is in operation before the game initiates. This will solve a few problems for me and generally help to ease the player in to the game as opposed to just chucking them straight in the game. It will also make sure the tracking is working properly before the game initiates and specific actions are required. I need to improve the GUI if i have time as it looks terrible from a design point of view but its functional.
I have extended the play area for the cave environment to incorporate 2D/3D designed sounds for things such as bats and a small piece of music to detail a mystical inside to a cave. I have fixed bugs in the cave area associated to level progression blockers and created a new script which waits for 5 seconds before destroying the target entity the script is associated to.
New play area Beach level is in the process of being built, Walls, floors and Basic environmental sounds/mixing has been added. Events and Gameplay need to be added/decided upon. Design changes may need to be made. Adaptations to the original level plan may incorporate an addition of a metal detector for one of the artefacts and story details such as hearing bombers overhead have been added to fit in with the theme better and improve narrative.
Player component SensoryPlayerController has been retired and changed in line with mazeplayercontroller. – this controller allows a player to feel surfaces and hear audio feedback if the hand object collides with a wall. Mappings to the motion tracking will need to be added for this extended functionality. This change had been made to Cave, Haunted house levels and added to beach level. This will become the new standard for the player character until/if a new version is made.
Crouch has been decided upon as a way to exit the game as it is a non deliberate motion unlike swaying about. This may be subject to change if crouch functionality is required. Players will be told about this using audio.
The woodenstairs sound has been used to test the wall sounds in each level that I have adapted the new mazeplayercontroller to.
Schedule
I was ahead of my schedule before christmas break my target is to get the levels built week by week allready 1/6 levels are playable and 1/6 rifts link. 3/6 levels have an available play space to walk in. I aim to have at least 2-3 levels playable by the end of the next week.
Functions I need to add/explore
Metal Detection – Pinging a sound back from a player action such as holding left arm forward
Understanding hold and destroy script in conjunction with playing a sound – Can I play a fade out sound for artefacts before they get destroyed. The current sounds are very choppy.
AI – This must be looked at even if not used. AI may be used for the monster in haunted house and Sentinel in underground level. Also may be incorporated to roboguards in futuristic level.
Holding screens before missions – Need an explanation of some missions before the mission. Speech inside the missions need shortening or moving to these as prolonged explanation causes audio to play over other audio and gets real boring for players.
That’s my update summary for this week I will start posting one of these per week or few days as needed. This is for the purpose of documentation for my final project text.
Leave a Reply

